100 World Legends Ambassador Visit and Fact-Finding Visit to Laos

March 28, 2018

Find out more

In 2018, the first visit by members of the 100 World Legends took place. Our members Frank Bunce of New Zealand, Paddy Johns of Ireland, Junior Paramore of Samoa, and David Higgins visited Laos as guests of the Laos Rugby Federation.

The visit started in Vientiane, the capital of Laos, at the time of the DHL Vientiane International Rugby Championship, where they met a number of regional girls and boys teams, officials, and later visited our Champa Ban powered by ChildFund Pass It Back work in Xieng Khouang Province! Several special events were organised for their visit, including a visit to the local school and an outdoor beginners’ introduction to rugby for over 200 pupils. Later, a full coaching session for over 100 youth members of Laos rugby was held. Before they left, they had a farewell dinner with local government officials and members of Laos Rugby Federation, including the referees and group coaches.
Our legends left inspired by the great work that has been achieved by Lao Rugby for all ages and the inclusive rugby for all, with over 55% of young players in Laos being girls. The enthusiasm and tireless work are amazing, and the work done by the Legends laid the foundation for our next visit and the first Rugby for Life camp.
A big thank you to our partners and sponsors, Cairnhill Structures, PROJECX, DAC, and 1765 Gemini, for making the Legends’ trip possible!


Trevor Leota

Tanner Vili

Pat Lam

Opeta Palepoi

Junior Paramrore

Junior Fatialofa

Elvis Seveali’l

Todd Clever

Viliami Ma’asi

Epi Taione

Sione Tuipulotu

Kati Tuipulotu

Maama Molitika

Ian Gowland

Pedro Leal

Aderito Esteeves

Frank Bunce

Luke Thompson

Shane Bryne

Gavin Duffy

Geordan Murphy

James Downey

Paddy Johns

Tony Buckley

David Corkery

Ben Evans

Jevon Groves

Dominic Day

Allan Bateman

Chris Wyatt

Collin Charvis

Darren Morris

Gavin Thomas

Ian Gough

Jon Bryant

Robert Sidoli

Sonny Toi Parker

Rory Lawson

Fergus Thompson

Max Evans

Thom Evans

Andrew Henderson

Bruce Douglas

Chris Cusiter

Craig Chalmers

Gavin Kerr

David Hilton

Tommy Seymour

Simon Webster

Simon Taylor

Scott Hastings

Nikki Walker

Marcus di Rollo

Kelly Brown

Jason White

Graeme Morrison

Matt Turner

Alex Tait

Roy Winters

Tim Stimpson

Dan Scarborough

Roger Uttley

Andy Vilk

Lee Dickson

Peter Winterbottom

Ollie Phillips

Matt Perry

Kevin Yates

George Chuter

David Strettle

Serge Betsen

Olivier Azam

William Servat

Steffon Armitage

Jim Negusa

Danny Ligari

Sisa Koyamaibole

Nicky Little

Bill Cavubati

Eddie Evans

Al Charron

James Pritchard

Jeremy Paul

Ben Darwin

Niall Statham